Archive | 2:47 pm

Around the World Imbibing

18 Nov

It’s been about a month since my last international trip, and I am starting to feel antsy.  My suitcase, sitting lonely and empty under my bed, is calling out to be filled, and my passport just seems to be screaming “Use me! Stamp me! Love me!”  I’m going through withdrawals.

If I didn’t live in New York City, I’d really be in trouble, but luckily, I do, so I can handle this.  After all, if I can’t get on a plane and go somewhere, I can at least get into a taxi and wind up someplace pretty special.

One of my favorite things to do is to go to one of the city’s classic, iconic hotels, and pretend that I am an international traveler, visiting New York and experiencing it as I would if I were in Paris, London, or another equally spectacular city.

The other night, while the itch to get away was particularly strong, I decided to go to The Pierre, one of the city’s best hotels, that old NY gem located on Fifth Avenue just across from Central Park.  I had heard they just introduced “Live @ Two E” , a no-cover jazz music series every Tuesday evening between 6:30 and 9:30pm.   The classy, swanky jazz night takes places in the equally classy, swanky Two E lounge at the hotel, and the moment I walked in, I knew it was just what the doctor ordered.

The setting: warm woods, low lights, cozy banquettes, classic elegance.
The crowd: glamorous, sexy, stylish, sophisticated.
The music: cool, classy, and oh-so-jazzy, with a jazz guitar, a bass, and a couple of talented musicians.

This was enough to make my Tuesday evening something special, but I was even more pleasantly surprised (as was the wanderlustful side of me!) when I discovered their new drink menu, entitled “A Taste Around the World.”  Are you kidding me?  Vacation in a glass.

Cocktail choices include: The Canadian Maple (Mount Gay Rum, Real Maple Syrup, & Lime Juice), Rising Sun of Japan (Ultimat Vodka, Lychee Liqueur, Wasabi, Lemon Juice & Simple Syrup), Great Wall of China (Illegal Mezcal Joven, “Chinese Five Spice” Agave Nectar, Cointreau, Fresh Orange Juice & Fresh Lime Juice), African Safari (Hennessy VS, Fresh Tangerine Juice, Tamarind Paste, Citrus Syrup & Tio Pepe), Taj of India (Ultimat Vodka, Cilantro Leaves, Mint Leaves, “Chaat Masala”, Fresh Lime Juice, Simple Syrup & Pineapple Juice), the Persian (Juniper Berries soaked Belvedere Vodka, “Barberry Puree”, Agave Nectar, & Saffron Infused Sweet Vermouth), and my personal favorite, the Warsaw Mermaid of Poland (Zubrowka Vodka, “Longonberry” Preserves, Apple Juice, Lemon Juice & Simple Syrup).

After a few internationally-inspired cocktails, a few internationally-inspired appetizers (and a nice bonus: complimentary olives, parmesan cheese, and delicious potato chips), and a couple of hours of beautiful jazz, I felt relieved, relaxed, and refreshed–I had taken a mini trip around the world and a trip back in time.  You’ll know where to find me next Tuesday…

http://www.tajhotels.com/Luxury/Grand-Palaces-And-Iconic-Hotels/The-Pierre-New-York/Overview.html