Why “wanderlustful”?

26 Sep

Lust, one of the seven deadly sins (and many people’s favorite one), is defined as: a) An overwhelming desire or craving;
b) Intense eagerness or enthusiasm. This, along with words like passion, excitement, and even addiction, describes my feeling about travel. In fact, I love the word “wanderlust.” It’s one of my favorites. Of course, the other deadly sins are relevant as well: I travel with intense GLUTTONY (five course meals, chocolate overdoses, wine-filled extravaganzas): I am GREEDY for more trips; I am ENVIOUS of people who have been to places I haven’t yet visited; and the list goes on…
In short, I am a PROUD travel addict whose intense desire to wander knows no bounds.

My most recent trip, one that I return to in my mind over and over again, was nothing short of a travel dream come true. I spent one week visiting four countries in Southern Africa. Highlights included Table Mountain in Cape Town, a leopard cub sighting in MalaMala game reserve, an elephant back safari in Zimbabwe, petting an orphaned Cheetah in Zimbabwe, hugging angelic orphans in Victoria Falls, counting multiple rainbows at aforementioned falls, and watching the sun gloriously set over the Chobe River in Botswana.

Here’s a excerpt from the article I’m writing, which will be out mid-October:

“Driving away from the lions in the pitch black, we stopped to watch a leopard casually sauntering down the dirt road. His eyes shone in the light of the flashlight and he was filled with an air of mystery, power, and allure. He was the most beautiful creature I’d ever seen. He walked right next to our vehicle—within arm’s reach—and then disappeared into the night.
My first game drive was over, and I had already seen the Big 5.”

My first leopard sighting in South Africa

Leave a Reply

